ABMS Member Board Participation and Recognition for MOC Part IV

For participation in the ABMS Portfolio Program
Updated June 28, 2019


ABMS Member Boards participating in the Portfolio Program offer an established option for recognizing valid quality/performance/practice improvement (QI/PI) activities which their board certified physicians are engaged in. The table below shows what each Member Board awards to a physician who completes an approved activity through a sponsor organization.


AnesthesiologyTraditional MOCA: 1 Part IV Case Evaluation
MOCA 2.0: Up to 20 Part IV Points for Participants
MOCA 2.0: Up to 25 Part IV Points for Leaders
Dermatology1 Part IV practice assessment QI module
Emergency Medicine1 patient care practice improvement activity
Family Medicine20 points depending on certification year
Internal Medicine30 Practice Assessment points
Medical Genetics and Genomics1 Improvement in Medical/Professional Practice (Part IV) activity
Obstetrics and Gynecology1 Part IV assignment (max allowed per calendar year)
Ophthalmology1 practice performance module
Otolaryngology1 performance improvement module
Pathology1 Part IV activity
Pediatrics25 Part IV Points
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation1 practice improvement project
Preventive Medicine1 MOC Part IV activity
Psychiatry and Neurology1 Improvement in Medical Practice (PIP) Clinical Module
Radiology1 Practice Quality Improvement (PQI) project
Surgery1 quality assessment program or participation in a national, regional, or local outcomes database 
Thoracic Surgery1 activity or quality assessment program
Urology1 MOC-PS activity
NCCPAAs will be awarded 30 PI-CME credits. NCCPA then doubles the first 20 PI-CME credits earned for each PA per CME logging cycle.